BAIL NJ. PRETRIAL RELEASE FROM PRETRIAL DETENTION–PART 2

O.K., in a previous article I, STEPHEN A. GRAVATT, ESQ., (732)-337-7922, www.NJDwiCriminalDefenseAttorney.com, explained how the new BAIL NJ statute, i.e., N.J.S.A. 2A:162-15 through 26, effective January 1, 2017, requires that if an accused defendant has been indicted, or accused of, committing an indictable “crime” (felony), and/or a violation of the Domestic Violence Act, an arrest […]

BAIL NJ. PRETRIAL RELEASE FROM PRETRIAL DETENTION

Effective January 1, 2017, new Legislation, i.e., N.J.S.A. 2A:162-15 through 26, imposes changes to the Criminal Justice system which can be accurately described as “BAIL REFORM NEW JERSEY”. I, STEPHEN A. GRAVATT, ESQ., (732)-337-7922, www.NJDwiCriminalDefenseAttorney.com, have been handling criminal defense matters in New Jersey for approximately 29 years. The following is Part 1 of an […]

Violation of Probation Defense Attorney

Experienced criminal defense Attorney defends against charges of violation of probation in all New Jersey Courts. STEPHEN A. GRAVATT, ESQ. (732)-337-7922 www.NJDwiCriminalDefenseAttorney.com What conduct constitutes violation of probation? Upon a finding of guilt to one or more criminal offenses, an accused defendant’s status changes from one accused of an offense (and therefore entitled to Constitutional […]

2C:28-1 Perjury NJ

2C:28-1 PERJURY—NJ Perjury NJ if YOU HAVE BEEN CHARGED WITH VIOLATION OF 2C:28-1 Perjury, you may have exposure to jail time from a minimum of 3 years to a maximum of 5 years, fines of up to $15,000.00, criminal record. I have been practicing criminal law for 26 plus years and I can help you […]

2C:28-3 Falsification NJ

UNSWORN FALSIFICATION TO AUTHORITIES—N.J.S.A. 2C:28-3 Unsworn Falsification NJ If you have been charged with violation of 2C:28-3, you have exposure to jail time, criminal record, max fines. I have been handling criminal matters for 26 plus years and can help you avoid possible conviction, jail time, criminal record, max fines. Please contact me at (732)-337-7922 […]

2C:28-2 Swearing NJ

FALSE SWEARING—N.J.S.A. 2C:28-2 You own a residential rental property occupied by tenants. The water heater breaks and you install a new water heater in the unit. However, the new unit has a defective flue and that violates the building code. You bribe the building inspector to overlook the violation but the defective flue causes carbon […]

2C:28-7 Tampering NJ

TAMPERING NJ WITH PUBLIC RECORDS—N.J.S.A. 2C:28-7 If you have been charged with 2C:28-7 you need to know that this is a criminal offense exposing you to possible jail time, criminal record, fines of up to $15,000.00 if charged as a 3rd degree crime, if convicted. I have 26 plus years of handling criminal violations and […]

2C:28-4 False Reports NJ

FALSE REPORTS TO LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS-N.J.S.A. 2C:28-4 False Reports NJ If you have been charged with 2C:28-4 false reports you need to know that it is a serious criminal offense which exposes you to possible jail time up to 18 months, criminal record, fines of up to $10,000.00, if convicted. I have been handling criminal […]

2C:20-8 Theft NJ

THEFT NJ OF SERVICES—N.J.S.A. 2C:20-8 ILLUSTRATIVE EXAMPLE: You’ve just been laid off by your former employer “Comfast” cable company. Not only do you know how to obtain cable television services for yourself from “Comfast” without having to pay a cable bill, but you also know how to successfully build a set top box for the […]

2C:20-7 RECEIVING NJ

RECEIVING NJ STOLEN PROPERTY—N.J.S.A. 2C:20-7 If you have been charged with violation of 2C:20-7 and the goods at issue are worth at least $500.00, it is a serious criminal offense which exposes you to possible jail time up to 5 years, criminal record, fines of up to $15,000.00. I have 26 plus years experience handling […]

2C:20-6 Theft/lost

THEFT OF PROPERTY LOST, MISLAID OR DELIVERED BY MISTAKE—N.J.S.A. 2C:20-6 Theft/lost If you have been charged with violation of 2C:20-6 (Theft/lost)for goods worth $500.00 or more, you have expose to 3rd degree felony charges, jail time-minimum 3 years, max 5 years, monetary fines of up to $15,000.00 plus criminal record. In my 26 plus years […]

2C: 20-5 Theft/extortion

THEFT BY EXTORTION—N.J.S.A. 2C: 20-5 2C:20-5 theft/extortion If you’ve been charged with 2C:20-5, you are exposed, if convicted to possible jail time, monetary fines and a criminal record. In my 26 years of practicing criminal law, I have successfully handled many similar types of cases. Please contact me for help at (732)-337-7922 for an evaluation […]

2C:20-4 Theft NJ

THEFT NJ BY DECEPTION—N.J.S.A. 2C:20-4 ILLUSTRATIVE EXAMPLE: You are a diesel truck mechanic and you run a mobile truck repair service. Business has been really slow. You know that you can obtain payment from trucking companies using COMCHECK and that you can convert those drafts to cash by presenting that instrument to a check cashing […]

2C:21-2.1 False gov docs NJ

OFFENSES INVOLVING FALSE GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS—N.J.S.A. 2C:21-2.1 You have special training and expertise in creating copies of certain types of official documents. You and father Francisco down at the Newark Parish cook up a scheme to raise cash by printing up fake driver’s licenses for the many Mexican illegal aliens coming into the city. They will […]

2C:20-3 Theft NJ

THEFT NJ BY UNLAWFUL TAKING OR DISPOSITION—N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3 ILLUSTRATIVE EXAMPLE: You know a guy who will pay you quick cash for delivery of select late model stolen vehicles. It’s business, man and you need money. So you are casing out the parking lot at the PNC Arts Center during a rock concert when you spot […]

PROBATION NJ, EARLY

PROBATION NJ, EARLY TERMINATION OF—N.J.S.A. 2C:45-2 Need to obtain Early Release from Probation for a career opportunity? I may be able to help you. I have been practicing criminal law for 26 years and have handled this type of case. Please contact me at (732)-337-7922. ILLUSTRATIVE EXAMPLE: PROBATION NJ, EARLY…If you were convicted two (2) […]

2C:21-2.1(d) Fake dl

FALSE DRIVER’S LICENSE—N.J.S.A. 2C:21-2.1(d) fake dl If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:21-2.1(d) e.g. fake dl, you have exposure for for jail time up to 18 months, fine of up to $10,000.00, criminal record. I have been practicing criminal law for 26 plus years and have handled many of these cases. I can help […]

2C:12-10 Stalking NJ

STALKING—N.J.S.A. 2C:12-10 If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:12-10, you are facing possible exposure to jail time up to 5 years, criminal record, and fines up to $15,000.00. I have been practicing law for 26 plus years and have handled may criminal cases. I can help you avoid possible conviction, jail time, criminal record, […]

2C:21-6 Credit Cards NJ

CREDIT CARD FRAUD—CREDIT CARD THEFT—N.J.S.A. 2C:21-6 Credit cards If you have been charged with violation of 2C:21-6 you need to know that this is a serious criminal offense exposing you to jail time up to 5 years per Count, criminal record, fines up to $15,000.00 per Count. I have 26 plus years experience handling criminal […]

2C:10-10 Joyriding NJ

UNLAWFUL TAKING OF MEANS OF CONVEYANCE—N.J.S.A. 2C:10-10 ALSO KNOWN AS “JOYRIDING” Joyriding NJ If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:10-10, if convicted, you could be exposed to jail time up to 5 years, monetary fines up to $15,000.00, criminal record. In my 26 years of practicing criminal law, I have handled many types of […]

2C: 15-2 Carjacking NJ

CARJACKING—N.J.S.A. 2C: 15-2 Carjacking NJ If you have been charged with violation of 2C:15-2, Carjacking NJ, if convicted, you are exposed to jail time up to 20 years, monetary fines up to $200,000.00. I have been practicing criminal law for 26 plus years and have handled many different types of criminal charges. Please contact me […]

2C:11-4 Manslaughter NJ

MANSLAUGHTER—N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4 Manslaughter NJ If you have been charged with violation of 2C:11-4, Manslaughter NJ, you are exposed, if convicted, to up to 30 years jail time, up to $200,000.00 monetary fine, criminal record. I have been practicing criminal law for 26 plus years and have successfully handled many different types of felony cases. Please […]

KNOWINGLY LEAVING THE SCENE OF A MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN DEATH—N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5.1

KNOWINGLY LEAVING THE SCENE OF A MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN DEATH—N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5.1 You are driving northbound in your Dodge ram truck down a rural road in western Monmouth County one evening at 65 mph. You know you should not be driving because the liability insurance on the vehicle lapsed for nonpayment two (2) months […]

2C:11-5 Vehicular

DEATH BY VEHICULAR HOMICIDE—N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5 Under what circumstances does the operator of a motor vehicle have criminal exposure for causing a collision in which a death occurs? FACT PATTERN It’s Friday afternoon and you are entertaining an important new client by meeting them for lunch. He orders a martini while waiting for the appetizer so […]

2C:12-2 Reckless endang

RECKLESS ENDANGERMENT—N.J.S.A. 2C:12-2 If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:12-2, (Reckless endang)if convicted, you have exposure for jail time, punishing monetary fines and criminal record. I have been practicing law for 26 plus years and have successfully handled many similar type cases. Please contact me at (732)-337-7922 for an evaluation of your circumstances and […]

2C:17-2 Widespread injury

CAUSING OR RISKING WIDESPREAD INJURY OR DAMAGE— N.J.S.A. 2C:17-2 If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:17-2, if convicted, you have exposure for jail time up to 10 years, monetary fines up to $150,000.00 plus restitution, and a criminal record. I have been practicing criminal law for 26 plus years. I can help. Please contact […]

2C:17-1 Arson NJ

ARSON—N.J.S.A. 2C:17-1 Arson NJ if you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:17-1 (arson nj), if convicted, you have exposure for jail time up to 20 yeard on a 1st degree, 10 years on a 2nd degree and 5 years on a 3rd degree–monetary fines of up to $150,000.00 on a second degree, $15,000.00 on a […]

2C:15-1 Robbery NJ

ROBBERY—N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1 Robbery NJ If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:15-1 (theft plus force without a weapon= robbery nj), you have exposure, if convicted, to jail time of up to 10 years, monetary fines of up to $15,000.00, restitution, criminal record if charged as 2nd degree–and jail time up to 20 years, fines up […]

2C:18-3 Trespass NJ

CRIMINAL TRESPASS UNLICENSED ENTRY OF STRUCTURES AND DEFIANT TRESPASSER –N.J.S.A. 2C:18-3 ILLUSTRATIVE EXAMPLE: You and a friend are walking up and down the beach road in Sea Bright one evening when you pass a private beach club known as “The Beach Club”. It is fenced off and it is clearly marked by signs that it […]

39:4-50.15 DWI NJ

MINORS IN VEHICLE (WHILE DWI)—N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.15 If you have been charged with violation of 39:4-50.15 (DWI-minors in the vehicle) you are exposed to an additional loss of license (above that just for the underlying DWI) and additional imposition of monetary fines and possible additional jail time up to 180 days. I have been practicing law […]

2C:4-50.19 Interlock NJ

FAILURE TO INSTALL INTERLOCK DEVICE—N.J.S.A. 2C:4-50.19 Interlock NJ If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:4-50.19, you have potential exposure to imposition of monetary fines up to $1,000.00 per violation, plus jail time of up to 180 days for each event and continued driver’s license suspension plus a disorderly persons offense criminal record. In my […]

39:4-50.14 DWI NJ

DWI NJ OPERATION OF MOTOR VEHICLE BY UNDERAGE DRINKERS—N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 If you have been charged with violation of underaged DWI, I can help. I have handled hundreds of these cases in my 26 plus years of practice. Please contact me for an evaluation of your circumstances and vigorous and competent defense at (732)-337-7922. ILLISTRATIVE EXAMPLE […]

2C:17-3 Crimi Mischief

CRIMINAL MISCHIEF—N.J.S.A. 2C:17 Mischief NJ If you have been charged with violation of 2C:17-3, you have exposure if convicted, for jail time up to 180 days, criminal record and monetary fine up to $1,000.00, and restitution for the damages caused by your conduct if the damages total $200.00 or less, but jail time up to […]

2C:14-3(a) Aggravated

AGGRAVATED CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONTACT—N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3(a) CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONTACT—N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3(b) Aggravated If you have been charged with 2C:14-3(a), Aggravated criminal sexual contact, if convicted, you are exposed to jail time up to 5 tears, monetary fines up to $15,000.00, criminal record. I have been practicing law for 26 years and have successfully handled many criminal matters. […]

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED (DWI)—N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a) through (i)

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED (DWI)—N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a) through (i) What conduct constitutes DWI, e.g., a violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50? Simply put, the statute prohibits three (3) specific types of conduct, e.g., (1) operating a motor vehicle while impaired due to ingestion of alcoholic beverages, (2) operating a motor vehicle while impaired due to ingestion of prescription drugs […]

2C:29-3 Hindering NJ

HINDERING APPREHENSION OR PROSECUTION—N.J.S.A. 2C:29-3 Hindering NJ If you have been charged with violation of 2C:29-3, if convicted, you could have exposure for up to 5 years jail time, monetary fines of up to $15,000,00, criminal record. In my 26 plus years practicing criminal law, I have handled many hindering apprehension and/or eluding cases. Please […]

2C:33-2 Disorderly NJ

DISORDERLY CONDUCT—N.J.S.A. 2C:33-2 Disorderly NJ If you’ve been charged with violation of 2C:33-2(a), you have exposure for possible jail from 0 to 30 days, criminal record and monetary fine of up to $500.00. I have handled hundreds and hundreds of these cases in my 26 plus years practicing criminal law–saving clients from conviction and from […]

2C Disorderly Persons

DISORDERLY PERSONS OFFENSES AND PETTY DISORDERLY OFFENSES 2C Disorderly Persons NJ What is a disorderly persons offense under the Law of New Jersey? The 2C criminal code, enacted by the New Jersey Legislature, codifies all criminal offenses and created three (3) broad categories of criminal offenses, e.g., “crimes” (known as felonies in other states); “disorderly […]

DRIVING WHILE (DRIVERS LICENSE) IS SUSPENDED OR REVOKED—ENHANCEMENTS—N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 and 39:3-40(f) NEW ADDITIONAL CRIMINAL EXPOSURE—N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26

DRIVING WHILE (DRIVERS LICENSE) IS SUSPENDED OR REVOKED—ENHANCEMENTS—N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 and 39:3-40(f) NEW ADDITIONAL CRIMINAL EXPOSURE—N.J.S.A. 2C:40-26 You are operating your automobile on a public highway and suddenly a police officer signals you to pull over. The police officer collects your drivers license, registration and insurance identification card, and walks back to his patrol car. A […]